The Planning Commission is made up of 21 members serving three-year terms, with an opportunity to be reappointed for two terms. Members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. They meet every other Friday, and serve on at least one additional committee: Communications and Nominations, Comprehensive and Neighborhood Planning, Zoning, or Transportation.

Planning Commissioners have diverse backgrounds in community development, including:

  • Architecture, civil engineering, and/or urban design
  • Arts and/or culturally-based programming
  • Business/economic development
  • City/urban planning, geography
  • Community organizing
  • Housing advocacy, development, and/or finance
  • Public administration and/or finance
  • Law
  • Youth and/or professional leadership


The Planning Commission has seven openings to fill from the following wards/neighborhoods:

  • Ward 1 (Summit-University, Frogtown)
  • Ward 2 (West Side, Downtown, Fort Road/West 7th)
  • Ward 4 (Hamline-Midway, Como, St. Anthony Park, Union Park)
  • Ward 6 (Payne Phalen, Greater East Side)
  • Ward 7 (Dayton’s Bluff, East View, Conway/Battle Creek/Highwood Hills) 

People who reflect Saint Paul’s diversity are specifically encouraged to apply.

Apply Now