The Dayton’s Bluff Community Council and Metropolitan State University are jointly creating the Community University Action Team (Action Team). The Action Team will be a permanent forum for communication and collaborative action, with participants representing the Council and the University.


The inter-dependence between the University and the Dayton’s Bluff neighborhood will significantly impact the future of this community. This Action Team can favorably impact University recruitment of students, faculty and staff and enlarge the potential for future student applicant groups that will be characterized increasingly by ethnic and racial diversity.

Equally important is the role of the University to directly intervene to strengthen the neighborhood that surrounds them. An effective Community University Action Team can be a catalyst for multiple opportunities, such as:

  • improving the city’s physical characteristics;
  • helping promote effective land use policies for economic revitalization;
  • developing neighborhood amenities;
  • attracting residents with discretionary incomes;
  • impacting the local economy through resident employment and local buying programs;
  • enhancing the educational preparedness of urban youth.
  • Developing Academic Programs that are responsive to needs identified in the community.


The Community University Action Team seeks to identify new ways of engaging the community and the University to implement a 21st-century shared public purpose. The Action Team will provide opportunities to articulate the common interests, assets, and needs of both the community and the University. The Action Team will explore and support means for furthering the articulation of mutual interests, leveraging community and University assets for action, and partnering to advance community and University goals.


  • The Action Team will seek to create an affiliate culture that enables neighborhood entities and the University to invest in the Dayton’s Bluff area to enhance prosperity, livability, and lifelong learning.
  • The Action Team will serve as one communication channel for two-way sharing of information, concerns, and opportunities between the University and community, and will seek to increase strategic action that leads to mutual benefit and increased community vitality.
  • The Action Team will pursue avenues for enhancing the inclusion of community members in publicly-oriented University activities and events and the active participation of University faculty, staff, and students in the community’s economic and civic life.


  • Community Members: DBCC Executive Director (Action Team Chair), ESABA Executive Director, plus a minimum of three Community Council appointees. Initial appointees: Cliff Carey, David Durant, Sage Holben, Rob Sebo Lubke, Elliott Nickell, Jane Prince
  • University Members: Tom Cook, Executive Assistant to the President & Director of Government Relations; Greg Mellas, Director, Institute for Community Engagement and Scholarship; Dr. Herbert King, Dean of Students; (TBD) Community Liaison Officer
  • Ad hoc sub-committees created by the Action Team may include members who are not Action Team members.
  • Meetings: Unless otherwise announced by the Chair, the Action Team will meet monthly, year-round. The time and place of monthly meetings will be set by the Chair. Any ad hoc sub-committees created by the Action Team will arrange their meeting schedules by consensus of the members.